Chakra Health

Refine Your Diet for Optimal Chakra Health

Just as it is important to nourish your physical body, so to much you feed your spiritual body.  Maintaining a healthy diet including lean meats, whole grains, and fruits, is essentially to optimize your chakras, or seven energy points in one’s body.  Below we have listed each chakra point and beneficial foods to consume to promote healthy energy flow.

Muladhara (Root chakra)

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine.  Commonly visualized by the color red, this chakra yokes the energy of the human form to the energy of the earth.  It promotes movement, survival, and self-esteem.

Nourishment:  Root vegetables like carrots, potatoes, parsnips, radishes, beets, garlic, shallots.  Proteins including eggs, meat, beans, tofu, soy, and nut butters.  Beneficials spices include chives, paprika, and pepper.

Swadhistana (Sacral chakra)

Located just below the navel, it is depicted in shades of orange.  This is house of emotions and creativity, and governs both control and balance throughout life.

Nourishment:  Fuel your creative spirit with sweet food like melons, mangos, berries, passion fruit, oranges, coconut, pineapple, honey, and sweetened nuts.  Incorporate spices like cinnamon, vanilla, and nutmeg.

Manipura (Solar Plexus)

This chakra located between the navel and the chest is perceived as “gut instinct.”  Represented by the color yellow, this chakra governs the balance between one’s ego, self-esteem and intuition.

Nourishment:  Feed this chakra grains, rice, flax or sunflower seeds, and dairy products.  Use spices including ginger, mint, chamomile, turmeric, cumin, and fennel.

Anahata (Heart chakra)

Located in the chest, by one’s physical heart, this chakra is reflected by the color green (and sometimes pink) and governs emotional wellbeing.

Nourishment:  Help to heal emotional wounds or limiting beliefs with leafy green vegetables such as spinach, kale, and field greens.  Also include broccoli, cauliflower, Brussel sprouts, cabbage, celery and artichokes.  Drink green tea and add spices like basil, thyme, and cilantro.

Vishuddha (Throat chakra)

Located in the throat, this chakra is symbolized by light blue and reflects one’s free will and responsibility.  Inability to advocate for one’s self can produce colds or sore throats.  Always speak up for yourself and speak the truth.

Nourishment:  Honor your throat by consuming liquids like water, fruit juices, and herbal teas.  Add honey and lemon for extra soothing.

Ajna (Third Eye)

Housed in the head, slightly above and between your eyes, it is reflected with the color indigo.  This chakra governs wisdom insight and maintaining balanced perspective.

Nourishment:  Focus your dark with dark berries like blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries.  You made wish to drink wine and grape juice, and add spices like poppy seeds or black sesame seeds to keep your Third Eye balanced.

Sahasrara (Crown chakra)

The topmost chakra, positioned just above your head is demonstrated with the colors purple or white.  This pinnacle chakra point unifies your spiritual self with your physical self and connects you to the Universe.  A physical representation of this blossoming spiritual communication as a lotus bud blossoming.

Nourishment:  This chakra benefits greatly from fasting and detoxifying to help facilitate spiritual awakening.  Use this time to smudge yourself or your home with herbs including sage, copal, myrrh, frankincense and juniper.